Mazda 3 2010 fuel gauge fault - Mazda3 Forums : The #1 Mazda 3 Forum


FMVPerformance.com is the premier Mazda 3 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2010, 03:22 PM   #1
primera28
Bicycle Rider
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Limassol
Posts: 3
Default Mazda 3 2010 fuel gauge fault

I owned the new Mazda 3 1.6 for 3 months now and i noticed that the new electronic fuel gauge indication is completely wrong. I made a test for 4 times now and i discovered that even if the fuel gauge it shows that the tank is completely empty and the trip computer shows 0km range i can add only 44 liters in the tank. The total capacity is 55liters. Please respond if someone else has the same problem.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC04420.JPG (33.1 KB, 35 views)
File Type: jpg DSC04422.JPG (39.4 KB, 23 views)
File Type: jpg DSC04423 (2).JPG (18.2 KB, 24 views)
File Type: jpg DSC04420.JPG (33.1 KB, 20 views)
File Type: jpg DSC04422.JPG (39.4 KB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg DSC04423 (2).JPG (18.2 KB, 23 views)
File Type: jpg DSC04420.JPG (33.1 KB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg DSC04422.JPG (39.4 KB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg DSC04423 (2).JPG (18.2 KB, 22 views)
primera28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-10-2010, 03:25 PM   #2
danielj
F1 Driver
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 16,620
Send a message via AIM to danielj Send a message via MSN to danielj
Default Re: Mazda 3 2010 fuel gauge fault

That is normal. Mazda adds a healthy reserve to their fuel guages/trip computers. Understandably, the last thing you want is to hit E or 0 miles left and have the tank actually be a zero.
__________________
Hi Everybody
danielj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 03:38 PM   #3
primera28
Bicycle Rider
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Limassol
Posts: 3
Default Re: Mazda 3 2010 fuel gauge fault

How can it be a healthy reserve. 11 liters in total 55 liters is the 1/5. I am sorry but this is not a healthy reserve but is a mulfuction. I drove many cars and i didnt have this problem. You know that based on the trip computer and the fuel gauge the maximun range is only around 400km. this is normal. i dont think so. With my previus volvo 1.6 i managed around 600-650km
primera28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 03:44 PM   #4
danielj
F1 Driver
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 16,620
Send a message via AIM to danielj Send a message via MSN to danielj
Default Re: Mazda 3 2010 fuel gauge fault

Mazda does not want its owners to run out of fuel. They program the computer to show no fuel when there is actual fuel remaining (and a lot of it).

Regardless, if you feel your car has a malfunction, the take it back to the dealer for inspection.
__________________
Hi Everybody
danielj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 03:58 PM   #5
wingzero_
Le Mans: GT Class
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 695
Default Re: Mazda 3 2010 fuel gauge fault

Plus the fuel is used to cool the fuel pumps so they definitely don't want you on 0
__________________
Mods: | Simota CBII-656 | Racing Beat Axle-Back | Racing Beat RSB | 1.25" Drop Road Magnet | Yellow XPEL Fogs | JDM Goodie Axela Badge | TB Ground | NextMod STB | EBay Eyelids | Hankook Ventus H105 | Garage16.ca Vent Visors | Dupli-Color Red Calipers | Advance Timing Mod | License plate tint | TRZ Dog Bone RMM | JBR SSP | JBR BB | MSDS Header

Mazda3 Sound Clips
wingzero_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 04:16 PM   #6
primera28
Bicycle Rider
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Limassol
Posts: 3
Default Re: Mazda 3 2010 fuel gauge fault

Guys we are talking about 11 liters... According to Mazdaís average consumption is about another 174 km aprox. Thatís donít make sense. I contacted the dealer for an appointment. Anyway thank you very very much for your reply
primera28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 04:18 PM   #7
danielj
F1 Driver
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 16,620
Send a message via AIM to danielj Send a message via MSN to danielj
Default Re: Mazda 3 2010 fuel gauge fault

Good luck and keep us posted.
__________________
Hi Everybody
danielj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 10:31 AM   #8
The_Pc
Bicycle Rider
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: France
Posts: 2
Default Re: Mazda 3 2010 fuel gauge fault

Hi there,

On a "full" tank I actually would get at least 600kms (about 50kms per little block of the fuel gauge, on a 1.6L petrol version - lots of diesels here in France). I think at gauge = 0 there should still be about 6-7 liters in the tank (tend to fill it up with about 47-49liters when down to the last little block).

I have another "problem" though, being that the average fuel consumption of the onboard computer is off by half a liter ... upwards. When I picked up the car it read 8.0L; it gradually dropped to 7.4L over the first 4000kms and has now dropped even lower to 7.3L (mixed environment, bit more city trips than highway). The real consumption calculated when filling up the tank however is between 6.9 and 7.0L. I guess the computer needs some time to readjust to the real levels of consumption.

Great car otherwise (not too big a fan of the automatic settings of the ventilation/airco though, prefer manual).
__________________
"Compute you will, yeessss"

2010 1.6l charcoal grey Mazda 3
The_Pc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 01:50 PM   #9
fugly16
Le Mans: Prototype Class
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: Mazda 3 2010 fuel gauge fault

Oh wow. 11 L? So that's like 3 gallons (for me, US) of reserve!? Interesting. So that's a lot of extra gas lol
__________________
fugly16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 05:56 AM   #10
Howardfink
Bicycle Rider
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Default Mazda 3 Petrol Gauge

Need Help!
My electronic gauge shows empty, petrol light on, trip counter shows 500 KM in tank, tank is full...
whats the problem with the electronic reading? any ideas??
Thanks Howard
Howardfink is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Mazda3 Forums : The #1 Mazda 3 Forum > Mazda3 General Discussion > Mazda3 (Axela) > Technical Information, FAQ's, How-To's

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.