AC problem (I searched) - Mazda3 Forums : The #1 Mazda 3 Forum


FMVPerformance.com is the premier Mazda 3 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-28-2009, 12:21 AM   #1
igor2
Le Mans: Prototype Class
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Austin, TX (previously Phila, PA)
Posts: 1,098
Default AC problem (I searched)

Hey Y'all

I have not posted for a while, but I was pushed to it by a peculiar new problem:

- my AC sometimes shuts off on its own.

It seems to only do it when I do not have recirculate on, but I have not been able to ascertain a pattern yet.

Basically, I have AC on, it works fine, then the green light goes off, and the AC turns off. Pushing the AC button does nothing until I turn the whole system off (Fan speed off) and back on. Then, I can resume the AC with no problem.

I know this seems electronic .. but I am hoping this has been encountered before .. and I can diagnose / fix it outside the dealership.

I am in Texas now - AC is irreplacable down here

Igor
__________________
Ladybug is for sale :'( 2004 Mazda3s sedan 5SPEED / loaded in Austin!! .. See HERE
igor2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-28-2009, 02:40 AM   #2
71spitfire
Short Track Racer
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 223
Default Re: AC problem (I searched)

I had a similar problem. It turned out to be the fan speed switch. I replaced mine & now it's fine. I may have also repaired my old one, but I have not tested it. I got a complete control panel off of ebay.
__________________
Paul
2004, White Mazda 3s 5 Door, 3 sets of Kumho Ecsta ASX 225/45R17. Now on 3rd set of Yokahama YK520 225/45R17. 304,000 miles when totaled. 5th set of tires, 5th set of rear pads, New rear rotors, Original front pads . 1 exploded drive belt idler pulley, #3 motor mount, 4th gas cap, 2nd thermostat, flashed ROM & numerous trips to the dealer only to have them tell me that my A/C is fine! Than why doesn't it blow cold?
71spitfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 10:08 PM   #3
fihner32
Le Mans: GT Class
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Winona MN
Posts: 542
Default Re: AC problem (I searched)

So does anyone know...
1. How to get to this switch
2. Where to get one
3. How much they cost
4. Plug and use

Thanks
__________________
[Center][img width=333 height=100]http://i558.photobucket.com/albums/ss21/Fihner32/fihner32_sig.jpg[/img][Center]
fihner32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 01:41 PM   #4
CameraGuy
Moped Rider
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central Valley, CA
Posts: 11
Default Re: AC problem (I searched)

Any updates on this?? My 2005 seems to have exactly the same problem...
CameraGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 04:40 PM   #5
sirhk100
Moped Rider
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 42
Default Re: AC problem (I searched)

Same issue here. Mine will turn off for a minute or two and then kick back on... Does it on fresh air or recirculate.
sirhk100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 09:56 AM   #6
kenelbow
Go-Kart Driver
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 61
Send a message via AIM to kenelbow
Default Re: AC problem (I searched)

I have the same issue. A local mechanic also informed me that it was my switch shorting out. I'm going to try calling around junkyards, etc. to see if I can find a panel for sale.
__________________
kenelbow

Mazda3s Titanium Gray Sedan
5 speed, Leather, Sport Package, Xenon & TPMS Package, ABS/SAB/SAC Package, Moonroof, MP3 player, and Nav
mfg. 11/03 purchased 3/04
kenelbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 04:01 PM   #7
ho fi mz-3
Le Mans: Prototype Class
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,299
Send a message via AIM to ho fi mz-3
Default Re: AC problem (I searched)

Well mine is going out too, same problem.
Just a bit hotter in AZ and no tint windows, lol.

Any updates on this?
[quote author=fihner32 link=topic=143379.msg3126391#msg3126391 date=1242439723]
So does anyone know...
1. How to get to this switch
2. Where to get one
3. How much they cost
4. Plug and use

Thanks
[/quote]
__________________

www.AZMazda3.com
ho fi mz-3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 09:11 PM   #8
willdude
Moped Rider
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 18
Default Re: AC problem (I searched)

My 2005 just started doing this too. Not too bothersome, though, and I'm glad to hear it's just a shorted switch and not the compressor going bad or anything. Weird coincidence, if the 2005's are suddenly doing this.
willdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 03:03 PM   #9
04mica3
Moped Rider
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Titusville, FL
Posts: 16
Default Re: AC problem (I searched)

[quote author=willdude link=topic=143379.msg3217338#msg3217338 date=1247101870]
My 2005 just started doing this too. Not too bothersome, though, and I'm glad to hear it's just a shorted switch and not the compressor going bad or anything. Weird coincidence, if the 2005's are suddenly doing this.
[/quote]

My 04 is doing something very similar to this. I will have to call the stealership and see how much a switch costs!!

Nate
__________________
** image removed. Please read forum rules regarding signature size.
04mica3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 12:54 PM   #10
deathspared
Moped Rider
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: california
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to deathspared
Default Re: AC problem (I searched)

anybody have a part # for this or a confirmation that replacing the fan switch worked for them?
deathspared is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Mazda3 Forums : The #1 Mazda 3 Forum > Technical / Model / Performance > Powertrain 2004-2009 Mazda3 > Stock Issues

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.