Stick shift tips - Mazda3 Forums : The #1 Mazda 3 Forum

FMVPerformance.com is the premier Mazda 3 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 02-04-2009, 07:48 PM   #1
frank21
Bicycle Rider

Default Stick shift tips

Hey everyone, I'm still a noob at stick so I have some questions driving.

1.When I start the car in first gear and the rpms drop when the clutch is engaged, is that normal or bad?

2. How bad is it for the car (or what does it mess up) when the car stutters before it accelerates?

3. Is it me, or is it hard to feel the throttle response of the mazdaspeed 3?

thanks in advance
frank21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-04-2009, 08:16 PM   #2
john_in_the_lbc

Default Re: Stick shift tips

1- rpms should not drop below idle. you should be giving it gas as you release the clutch or it may...
2- bog or stutter, sometimes called lugging the engine. yes, this can be harmful. it puts a lot of stress on the bottom end...rods and bearings.
3- ?
2006 Whitewater Pearl Mazda 3 S GT Hatch: Garage Vary Valiant Lip, Grill and Eyelids : Custom JL/Alpine Audio : MazdaSpeed Accessory Springs and Swaybars : JDM MazdaSpeed Strut Bar : Koni Yellows : 5Zigen Pro Racer zr520 : Continental ExtremeContact DW : Buddy Club Condenser : XE Pedals : Black Rays Lugs : HP Tint : Stubby :
My car thread http://www.mazda3forums.com/index.ph...857#msg1872857
john_in_the_lbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 01:44 PM   #3
slyons89
Short Track Racer

1. It's not too bad to let the RPMs drop, but it just gets you really close to stalling the engine and that's just embarrasing at an intersection or something lol. You'll see the headlights start to dim as you approach the stall.