How to replace Mazda 3 brake pads - Mazda3 Forums : The #1 Mazda 3 Forum


FMVPerformance.com is the premier Mazda 3 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-28-2008, 01:51 AM   #1
deluxman
Short Track Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 149
Send a message via Yahoo to deluxman
Default How to replace Mazda 3 brake pads

Hello M3 maniacs!!

I am looking for instruction to replace the M3 brake pads and also the tools needed to get the job done. Can someone please provide the link to the how to instruction? Also does anyone know how to flush the brake fluid and how many quarts is required?

Thanks !!
deluxman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-28-2008, 02:26 AM   #2
tigermack
F1 Driver
 
tigermack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 26,629
Send a message via AIM to tigermack Send a message via Yahoo to tigermack
Default Re: How to replace Mazda 3 brake pads

http://www.mazda3forums.com/index.php?topic=32297.0
__________________
tigermack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 02:49 AM   #3
deluxman
Short Track Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 149
Send a message via Yahoo to deluxman
Default Re: How to replace Mazda 3 brake pads

Tigermack, thanks for the link.......!! and also the super fast reply. I really do appreciate it.
deluxman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 03:04 AM   #4
tigermack
F1 Driver
 
tigermack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 26,629
Send a message via AIM to tigermack Send a message via Yahoo to tigermack
Default Re: How to replace Mazda 3 brake pads

You're welcome.
__________________
tigermack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 01:12 PM   #5
deluxman
Short Track Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 149
Send a message via Yahoo to deluxman
Default Re: How to replace Mazda 3 brake pads

tigermack, have you tried replacing it yourself using this instruction you gave me? DId you borrow the calliper tool compressor from autozone or did you buy from Harbor Freight one? Are they both the same or the Harbor Freight one is better? Please confirm before I took mine apart. Thanks! Also, what brake pads did you replace it with? If you replace it with an after market one, did it solve the dust issue on the rear pads?
deluxman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 01:32 PM   #6
icspots
Super Moderator
 
icspots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Falls Church, VA
Posts: 15,537
Default Re: How to replace Mazda 3 brake pads

I purchased the caliper tool from harbor freight as it was on sale for $18 and I figured I'd change the brakes at least one more time. No idea what tools places will rent out, though I imagine it would be similar.

I put on Hawk HPS pads and they seem to have decreased the wheel dust. Really as long as you don't put on an organic pad like the OEM the dust will be better.
icspots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 04:59 PM   #7
youngun
Le Mans: Prototype Class
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Santa Rosa
Posts: 1,394
Send a message via AIM to youngun
Default Re: How to replace Mazda 3 brake pads

Hey I have a question regarding brakes for anyone who knows. Do 3's with ABS need to be bled any diff than normal? Reason I ask is cause after I did my brakes about 2 weeks ago and bled them till the pedal was nice and hard the min I turned on the car the pedal felt soft till about half way down. Is that norm?
__________________
My Duratec got Nuked
[img width=215 height=100]http://i656.photobucket.com/albums/uu283/jeremiahyoung/052-1-1.jpg[/img]
youngun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 05:11 PM   #8
icspots
Super Moderator
 
icspots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Falls Church, VA
Posts: 15,537
Default Re: How to replace Mazda 3 brake pads

If you're just changing the pads or pads/rotors you shouldn't need to bleed them at all.
icspots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 05:26 PM   #9
youngun
Le Mans: Prototype Class
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Santa Rosa
Posts: 1,394
Send a message via AIM to youngun
Default Re: How to replace Mazda 3 brake pads

no i removed my calipers, rotors, and all so I could paint and replace
__________________
My Duratec got Nuked
[img width=215 height=100]http://i656.photobucket.com/albums/uu283/jeremiahyoung/052-1-1.jpg[/img]
youngun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 05:39 PM   #10
Sokool
F1 Driver
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sarasota, Fl
Posts: 3,795
Send a message via AIM to Sokool Send a message via Yahoo to Sokool
Default Re: How to replace Mazda 3 brake pads

[quote author=Youngun link=topic=129551.msg2783660#msg2783660 date=1228341593]
Hey I have a question regarding brakes for anyone who knows. Do 3's with ABS need to be bled any diff than normal? Reason I ask is cause after I did my brakes about 2 weeks ago and bled them till the pedal was nice and hard the min I turned on the car the pedal felt soft till about half way down. Is that norm?
[/quote]

It's called vacuum assist.
__________________
PART OUT THREAD!!!!
[center]
Sokool is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Mazda3 Forums : The #1 Mazda 3 Forum > Technical / Model / Performance > Suspension / Brakes

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.