Amp under the seat question - Mazda3 Forums : The #1 Mazda 3 Forum


FMVPerformance.com is the premier Mazda 3 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2008, 01:10 PM   #1
mikesta
Le Mans: GT Class
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sandy Springs, GA
Posts: 519
Send a message via MSN to mikesta
Default Amp under the seat question

I'm planning on installing an amp under the seat, to power the door speakers... I looked around some and tried search, I'd like to get some input from others who have done this

What size amp fits under there nicely? (some models of what you have could work ill look it up for dimensions)
Did you just mount it on a piece of wood? or something else...

Any recommendations on a good 4 channel amp, I was looking at a pioneer premier but its 300$ and that seams a little much for a sub hidden away.

I ordered the speakers today, (some info about them)

Front speakers TS-D720C
Speaker Specifications:
Speaker Size 6-3/4" (Oversized 6-1/2&quot
Design 2-way Component System
Tweeter Design Dome
Tweeter Composition N/A
Woofer Composition Aramid/Basalt fiber composite
Woofer Surround Butyl Rubber
Peak Power Handling 60 watts
RMS Power Handling 260 watts
Sensitivity 88 dB
Frequency Response 30 - 33000 Hz
Impedance (per voice coil) 4 ohms

Rears TS-D6802R

Speaker Size 6" x 8" (also mounts in most 5" x 7" locations)
Design 2-way
Tweeter Design Dome
Tweeter Composition PEI (Polyetherimide)
Woofer Composition Dual layer injection molded matrix fiber composite
Woofer Surround Butyl Rubber
Peak Power Handling 260 watts
RMS Power Handling 60 watts
Sensitivity 80 dB
Frequency Response 30 - 32000 Hz
Impedance (per voice coil) 4 ohms

The sub and amp I have already are Pioneer premier... I like the sound from Pioneer...
__________________
Just got a g35, but will hang with the 3 crowed
mikesta is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-10-2008, 05:35 PM   #2
Ryan.Kauz
Le Mans: Prototype Class
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Pedobear HQ, AKA: the back of my Pu$$y Wagon
Posts: 2,279
Default Re: Amp under the seat question

perhaps there is a difference between the MS3 and the MZ3, but you couldnt fit a box of condoms under the seat in the MS3, so I would imagine that in order to get a amp to fit there it would put out about 10w.

Did you by any chance look under the seat and measure the amount of space you have? (seems to be as obvious of a question as "is your computer plugged in" but appears to be a reasonable question in this case).
__________________
Ryan.Kauz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 07:05 PM   #3
mikesta
Le Mans: GT Class
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sandy Springs, GA
Posts: 519
Send a message via MSN to mikesta
Default Re: Amp under the seat question

I have not yet.. because I was at work at when i wrote this, I was planning on measuring it myself but thought this might have been quicker plus the other question I had on amp suggestions,

I know that if you have the bose system that is where the amp is.. so I know an amp should fit under there
__________________
Just got a g35, but will hang with the 3 crowed
mikesta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 07:06 PM   #4
Johnny Law
Go-Kart Driver
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 50
Default Re: Amp under the seat question

I mounted a 50x4 watt amp under the seat last week. I'll take some pics for you. There are a few obstacles: The rear floor heater vent, and uneven floor surfaces. I ended up making risers from bits of 2x4 for each corner of the amp to get a level setup. After screwing them into place, I cut the carpet and removed the backing as necessary to make it look neat and tidy. The carpet covers the 2x4 so it doesn't look ghetto. The amp was approx. 12" by 14". It's an older Audiobahn (don't be a hater, it works and was the perfect size and orientation for my old setup).
There's lots of room down there, just make sure the big electrical connector for the seat doesn't interfere when you slide the seat.

Tip: don't re-connect the battery at all until you put the seat back in place and connect the seat controller. In my 350Z, I plugged the battery in with the seat thing disconnected and got a CEL for the passenger airbag that I had to reset.
Johnny Law is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 07:17 PM   #5
mikesta
Le Mans: GT Class
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sandy Springs, GA
Posts: 519
Send a message via MSN to mikesta
Default Re: Amp under the seat question

Thanks that will help, I just did a quick measurement and I was thinking 13x13 (15 at a max) would be the biggest I should go... but its always different when you lift the seat out.. the pics would be awesome
__________________
Just got a g35, but will hang with the 3 crowed
mikesta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 08:45 PM   #6
El Ropo
Le Mans: GT Class
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 760
Send a message via ICQ to El Ropo
Default Re: Amp under the seat question

Many people have installed amps under the front seats. There is tons of room up to a 14.75" long amp. If you mount it right, you can't even see the amps from front or rear seats. I've got an eD Nine.1 mounted under the driver seat, and an old school Soundstream D200II under the passenger seat. There is still room for my D100II under the passenger seat for when I decide to go active. Those vents are pretty much useless for the two front seats, so it's not a big deal if you don't have a completely clear path for the vents.
__________________
[size=9px]-Winning Blue Mazda3 5-Door (11/03) -AEM CAI (Blue) | ETB Coolant bypass
-F-1 Premier Tint 35%/20% | Billet Aluminum 4" Stubby
-Pioneer DEH-P880PRS | AI Dashkit | eDi 6500s | Sounstream D200II
-eD 13Ov2 in 1 cube sealed | eD Nine.1 |v1se | Optima Yellow Top | 2 ga. big 3
[/size]
El Ropo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 10:50 PM   #7
Johnny Law
Go-Kart Driver
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 50
Default Re: Amp under the seat question

Here's the pics I promised...



You can't see anything unless the seat is moved forward, and it doesn't interfere much with rear passenger leg room. The controls are faced to the rear so I cam make adjustments from the driver's seat while setting gain levels, etc.

I carved the original tweeter housings out to fit these in. The're cheap, but they sound pretty good, esp. considering the OEM head unit.
Johnny Law is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 11:16 PM   #8
Carowen
F1 Driver
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: bernardsville, New Jersey
Posts: 2,934
Default Re: Amp under the seat question

how did u manage to get out the old tweeters?? mine are popping like crazy and i want to replace them
__________________
|Bc Coil-Overs|SPC Rear Camber Kit|8k HID Lows and Fogs| 7k Angel Eyes| 17x7.5 Speedy Lite-Fin Wrapped in 225/45/17 General Exclaim UHP| Custom Interior- Painted pillars, Door panels two Toned Black and Red Suede, Black Leather Headliner|
Carowen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 11:21 PM   #9
Johnny Law
Go-Kart Driver
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 50
Default Re: Amp under the seat question

A few shop knife blades and a little patience. Test fit, widen hole, repeat. I used some clear RTV silicone to hold them in place once they fit good.
Johnny Law is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 11:39 PM   #10
NoRegrets
F1 Driver
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Beverly Hills, FL
Posts: 4,031
Default Re: Amp under the seat question

i'm running the TMA T2-500.1 amp under my drivers seat with no problems.
i don't have pics at this moment but i'll try to remember to get some to give you an idea of how it fits.
__________________
Florida Roll Call Thread: http://www.mazda3forums.com/index.php?topic=120398.0
My MS3: http://www.mazda3forums.com/index.ph....0;viewResults
Quote:
Originally Posted by wassup61 View Post
blood is good, it feeds your gremlin so your motor doesnt blow. A week without flesh and it will start consuming rods
NoRegrets is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Mazda3 Forums : The #1 Mazda 3 Forum > Visual / Audio > 2004-2009 Electronics Discussion

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.