Oil change - how many quarts did it take? - Mazda3 Forums : The #1 Mazda 3 Forum


FMVPerformance.com is the premier Mazda 3 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2007, 02:12 PM   #1
ZooZoom
Le Mans: GT Class
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: So.Cal
Posts: 708
Default Oil change - how many quarts did it take?

did my first oil change last week. the manual clearly states that the oil capacity is 6 U.S. quarts.

but after putting 5 qts in the dip stick read right at the top (full) hole. I checked it after a few days and its still right at the full level.

so is it really supposed to take 6 quarts?
ZooZoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-10-2007, 03:09 PM   #2
warpspeed
Grand Am Series
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Earth
Posts: 397
Default Re: Oil change - how many quarts did it take?

Yes its suppose to be 6 qts. Now this is my first turbo car. I don;t know if the extra quart is for the Turbo I have no clue. But its strange you only took 5.
warpspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2007, 03:14 PM   #3
ZooZoom
Le Mans: GT Class
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: So.Cal
Posts: 708
Default Re: Oil change - how many quarts did it take?

the turbo's oil cooling lines should feed right off the same reservoir as the engine.

I'll keep an eye on the dip stick level. just wondering what's been the experience of other MS3 owners who've done their own oil changes recently.

and yes, this was with the oil filter changed out.
ZooZoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2007, 04:49 PM   #4
ClickHeRe
Grand Am Series
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Gatineau/Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 471
Default Re: Oil change - how many quarts did it take?

It took me less than 5L (big jug of Mobil1 5w30).

There is always oil left around and you can't drain it all even with the filter off.
__________________
2007 True Red Mazdaspeed3
Mods: TWM Shifter Bushings, Corksport Mount Insert
Upcoming Mods: Cobb AP + Intake, MS Coilovers, Hotchkis Swaybars, Mazdaspeed Smokey Chrome 18x7.5, Chromium Angel Eyes
ClickHeRe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 11:21 AM   #5
jcrystal
Short Track Racer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 241
Default Less than 6

I changed the oil myself and it definitely took less than 6 qts. Dealer did the second change and probably put in 6 which overfilled it....
jcrystal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 01:29 PM   #6
redms3gt
Grand Am Series
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: greensboro NC
Posts: 405
Default Re: Oil change - how many quarts did it take?

5qts here. Its about the same changing the filter or not. It dosent hold much in there.
redms3gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 04:53 PM   #7
ZooZoom
Le Mans: GT Class
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: So.Cal
Posts: 708
Default Re: Oil change - how many quarts did it take?

I agree that 5 qts seems to fill up the oil pan completely.

just kinda weird that the manual clearly states it takes 6 qts. :?
ZooZoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 12:20 PM   #8
dutchie3
Le Mans: Prototype Class
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,870
Default Re: Oil change - how many quarts did it take?

what is the consensus on this?
6 qt total capacity, but 5 qt for change? Good to know if you are doing yourself.

__________________
I'm from the government, and I am here to help you.
dutchie3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 12:53 PM   #9
ClickHeRe
Grand Am Series
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Gatineau/Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 471
Default Re: Oil change - how many quarts did it take?

It takes close to 5 quarts (I have 5L Mobil1 jugs and it took almost 1 jug), you can't remove it all as the service guy told me last time when I said "hum, thought it was 6qt from the manual" and he confirmed that you couldn't get it all out even with the filter out.
__________________
2007 True Red Mazdaspeed3
Mods: TWM Shifter Bushings, Corksport Mount Insert
Upcoming Mods: Cobb AP + Intake, MS Coilovers, Hotchkis Swaybars, Mazdaspeed Smokey Chrome 18x7.5, Chromium Angel Eyes
ClickHeRe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 09:32 PM   #10
ElyasWolff
Short Track Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 129
Default Re: Oil change - how many quarts did it take?

I donít know about FWD. But, when I drove RWD cars it was wise to over fill the sump by 1/2 qt. The logic was; under hard cornering the oil might cling too hard to the side of the sump, moving away from the oil pickup and causing oil starvation.

So I have no problem overfilling by 1/2 qt. (which 6qts fills to on my MS3)

1/2 qt will not harm anything. now if you put 9qts in the crankcase you might fill it up so far that the oil flows over the windage tray and contacts the crack, causing massive drag on the crankshaft.
__________________
1992 Miata: Individual Throttle Bodies, MegaSquirt, 11:1 camed up motor, 1978lbs, Gutted Beast of a Car, 130WHP Naturally Aspirated (that is on a 1.6 with 90whp stock) RIP: Killed by a Semi-Truck

2007 MS3: TWM Bushings, AWR 88, MazdaSpeed CAI, TurboXS Hybrid BOV and Race Pipe
ElyasWolff is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Mazda3 Forums : The #1 Mazda 3 Forum > Technical / Model / Performance > MazdaSpeed > MazdaSpeed3 DISI General Powertrain

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.