Diagnostic codes readable by owners? - Mazda3 Forums : The #1 Mazda 3 Forum


FMVPerformance.com is the premier Mazda 3 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-06-2004, 03:24 PM   #1
MN_MazdaGuy
Grand Am Series
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 394
Default Diagnostic codes readable by owners?

I can read a subset of the diagnostic codes in my Neon just by cycling the ignition switch in a certain sequence.
It flashes the CEL a count equal to a code number. Other cars can do this too.

What about our 3s?

I'm taking delivery of my first Japanese/Mazda car in a few weeks.
__________________
Strato Blue HB, manual, 6cd, ABS, Moonroof
IceLink and iPod. Stubby antenna
No leather, no TPMS, no xenon, no Nav, one huge ding, best MPG 29.73 (US)
MN_MazdaGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-25-2005, 11:15 AM   #2
nocab
Le Mans: GT Class
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cape Canaveral FL
Posts: 521
Send a message via AIM to nocab
Default Re: Diagnostic codes readable by owners?

Im just guessing that since this feature will not increase service center revenue, it was excluded. That Dodge/Chrysler function was really handy. I used it many times and it was always enough info. I havent read the book to see if we have anything like that.
__________________
-=Nocab=-
3s 5dr | Velocity Red | KN Panel Filter | Redline MT-90 | Custom Mount Dual Horn | 130k miles
nocab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2005, 11:33 PM   #3
87MustangGT
Short Track Racer
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Derby, CT
Posts: 222
Send a message via AIM to 87MustangGT
Default Re: Diagnostic codes readable by owners?

You can buy a code reader, but I think they're >$100 IIRC...
87MustangGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 01:26 AM   #4
AzMs3
F1 Driver
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Posts: 5,936
Default Re: Diagnostic codes readable by owners?

I don't think anyone has really looked into it.
I know it is possible to do this on the Ford Focus. And not increase service center revenue has nothing to do with it as it is not a very good way to even read the codes.

I have a scan tool that connects to a laptop I think it was around $300
__________________
2010 Mustang GT
Roush Exhaust
284whp & 294wtq
AzMs3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 08:41 PM   #5
digi0123
Le Mans: Prototype Class
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,525
Default Re: Diagnostic codes readable by owners?

I think anything from the ODB into the serial or USB of the laptop would work...program might be as much as a reader. Laptop program should offer additional options to play with the car.
__________________
ATX Crystal White Pearl Hatch - GT, Tech, Bose, Tint. CS SRI, Tripoint Engineering RSB and end-links. Eibach Pro Kit, Dynamat all around, Crager 17" Touring Wheels and Tourevo touring All-Season rubber. LED High Mount, LED this and that.
digi0123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 08:57 PM   #6
siefert
Grand Am Series
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 403
Default Re: Diagnostic codes readable by owners?

If you get a scanner make sur eit is CAN compatible or it won't work.
siefert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 02:58 AM   #7
Brian805
F1 Driver
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: central coast of california
Posts: 2,868
Default Re: Diagnostic codes readable by owners?

http://www.canobd2.com/tool/OBDSimple.asp What I have.
simple and easy to use. Comes with a case so you can just toss it in the glove box.
__________________
Brian805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2005, 10:25 PM   #8
nocab
Le Mans: GT Class
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cape Canaveral FL
Posts: 521
Send a message via AIM to nocab
Default Re: Diagnostic codes readable by owners?

[quote author=AzMz3 link=topic=7181.msg490130#msg490130 date=1132982772]
I don't think anyone has really looked into it.
I know it is possible to do this on the Ford Focus. And not increase service center revenue has nothing to do with it as it is not a very good way to even read the codes.

I have a scan tool that connects to a laptop I think it was around $300
[/quote]
Being able to read codes yourself means you dont have to take it to dealership....therefore excluded by Mazda so we have to go to the dealerships. Just had to clarify the intent here.
__________________
-=Nocab=-
3s 5dr | Velocity Red | KN Panel Filter | Redline MT-90 | Custom Mount Dual Horn | 130k miles
nocab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 01:07 AM   #9
AzMs3
F1 Driver
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Posts: 5,936
Default Re: Diagnostic codes readable by owners?

[quote author=NocaB link=topic=7181.msg500122#msg500122 date=1133835933]
[quote author=AzMz3 link=topic=7181.msg490130#msg490130 date=1132982772]
I don't think anyone has really looked into it.
I know it is possible to do this on the Ford Focus. And not increase service center revenue has nothing to do with it as it is not a very good way to even read the codes.

I have a scan tool that connects to a laptop I think it was around $300
[/quote]
Being able to read codes yourself means you dont have to take it to dealership....therefore excluded by Mazda so we have to go to the dealerships. Just had to clarify the intent here.
[/quote]

As stated they are not as good as a real scan tool and you would still need a scanner or to take it to the dealer if you find the problem and fix it.
Even on the similar vehicles that have it, it doesn't have the capability to list all codes.
__________________
2010 Mustang GT
Roush Exhaust
284whp & 294wtq
AzMs3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 03:00 AM   #10
senseamp
Short Track Racer
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 176
Default Re: Diagnostic codes readable by owners?

On my Maxima, there was a screw on the ECU that you could turn and it would blink the engine code with the CEL. That was a priceless feature. I never took it to a dealer.
I also heard that some auto parts stores will do ECU readout for free, can someone confirm?
__________________
. ________
___/___|__\_/ \
( |___|__/ ]

2006 Sunlight Silver 5sp Touring Hatch
senseamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Mazda3 Forums : The #1 Mazda 3 Forum > Technical / Model / Performance > Powertrain 2004-2009 Mazda3 > Stock Issues

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.