Mazda3 Forums banner

Noise from rear Suspension?

14K views 7 replies 4 participants last post by  jko 
#1 ·
Hey guys, i have a noise problem that sounds like its coming from the rear suspensions, like a mixture of a squeeky and a rough grunt, basically when the weight shifts to the rear. For example, i can hear the sound any time the 2 rear wheels have gone over a speed hump, or when i'm about to enter my carport which is higher than the road by half a metre. I can also hear it very rarely sometimes when i steer, but im still guessing that it only happens when the weight is shifted to the rear becoz when i shake and put my weight on the rear, like pushing down on the rear and making it bounce i can't hear a single noise.

Sooo any theories on what kind of problem it is?
The shocks? Suspension? Sway bar? Anything???

Btw the car is on 160k's
Thanx.

#2 ·
Btw i know alot about my car and all its parts, however i have very little knowledge about the suspension area of the car, so plz be very specific :)

#3 ·
I've also inspected the rear bottom of the car, there are no leaks or loose bolts under the rear of the car, nothing makes a noise no matter what i do, unless i drive it over something that is :p also the car is very stable to drive when going over stuff, so i doubt that its the shocks that would make the noise.

#4 ·
I used to have a lot of noise going over speed bumps, or basically anything that would put the two rear wheels on uneven ground. It sounded like a low pitched squeaking/clunking, like something was rubbing. It turned out to be the sway bar bushings that attach the rear sway bar to the sub-frame. All it needed was a re-grease, but I decided to do what some people do and just use teflon tape on the sway bar instead (apparently it lasts longer than re-greasing the bar).

#6 ·
yeah i just watched a video on a mazda 3 rear sway bar replacement and now its just a matter of finding some spare time and checking the bushings on the sway bar...