Mazda3 Forums banner

Motor Mount Breaks w/ Pics

47K views 183 replies 51 participants last post by  chaos4 
#1 ·
I recently got a speed 3 and i love the car. Some spirited driving and this happens. The engine fell and took out the driver side axel also. Ive had the car for a week. Its already at the dealer getting fixed. My problem is is this a known problem and is there some type of recall? I just dont want the same weak part put back in only to have this happen again.

See less See more
#3 ·
And the thing is, I'm a pretty fast driver :(. Please keep us posted on this and if you can take some more pics (without the airbox) please do. It would be nice to compare them to the previous thread but I'm sure the damage to the mount will look similar.

To answer your question, no there isn't a recall that I know of as of yet. There are people with > 5000 miles and no problem. I myself will probably be at 4k tomorrow or wednesday. But that of course doesn't mean it can't happen later, which kinda sucks. I really hope Mazda is paying attention and could come up with some reasonable explanation because I have a feeling this isn't the last we'll hear of this. Anyway good luck!

Found this on the Australian forums:

http://www.ozmazdaclub.com/forums/mps-discussion/22287-mps-3-broken-engine-mount.html

I searched and it was the only one I could find. Someone suggested it might've been a bad batch. I really hope so.

#7 ·
daum, this is not good news. I really hope mazda takes action soon since replacing a motor mount or mounts will be much cheaper in the long run than replacing all the bits that break when the engine falls.
spirited driving or not, this car should not break under anything you can throw at it stock besides maybe repeated 6k clutch drops and even then it should hold up or it simply wasnt designed strong enough.

good luck with the fix, keep us updated.

#9 ·